The Three Islands Plan

Body of sand at the Veerse gat
Veerse gat
The Three Islands Plan owes its name to the three islands that were connected through building two dams: Walcheren, North-Beveland and South-Beveland. Rijkswaterstaat (Department of Public Works) had this plan before the flood of 1953, but never got around to carrying it out. Before the flood of 1953, land reclamation was the priority, but after the disaster, safety became the most important motive. Furthermore, road connections between the islands were improved. By building the two dams, experience was gained to aid building even bigger dams. The first dam was the Zandkreek Dam, which connects North-Beveland with South-Beveland. The second dam, the Veerse Gat Dam, connects North-Beveland with Walcheren. The Zandkreek Dam was constructed between 1957 and 1961, the Veerse Gat Dam between 1958 and 1961. Together, these two dams cut off the Veerse Meer from the Eastern Schelde and the North Sea.